That time I ate a Chicken Sando in 6 mins.

Let me start off by saying if you haven’t been to Basilisk, you should.

This lovely bit of joy is located on NE 27th and Sandy, in the Zipper. You walk in and are greeted by a handsome bearded husky fella. From there  you get caught up by the smell of fried chicken and house made hot sauce. You take a quick look around and there just to the right of the resister you see it, the soft serve machine. This is not just any soft serve machine, this one gifts you with Kool-Aid flavored soft serve. It’s nothing terribly fancy, it’s not hyper local or made by a hipster in his moms garage. But  what it does do, is it takes you back to a place and time in your life that was much simpler. A memory of summer vacation ( I miss those), a BBQ, or making popsicles with your parents. Items like this add so much to a menu and an experience over all. I defiantly ordered one and had it as I waited for my sando, cause I am an adult and if I want dessert first then I will do so.

On to this glorious Spicy Fried Chicken Sandwich. basilisk-gifThis hot hunk of a sando came out on a cute 1/8th sheet pan and pierced with a knife in it. A very dramatic entrance if I do say. Once this guy hit the table, conversation stopped and jaws dropped. My first though was how is that going to fit in my mouth, that thought quickly left my head as I reminded myself that I am a professional, I got this. After a quick examination and taste of the components I finally took my first bite. It really was glorious, rosemary bun, tangy house pickled cucumbers, crisp savory cabbage, legit house made  hot sauce ( it’s an extra $1 and well worth it), and that boneless oh so juicy, crispy chicken thigh. I can’t honestly say there are many things I enjoy more than a nice meaty thigh, and these where some of the best I’ve had in a while.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

